Consciousness

I go through phases like the waning of the moon.
One moment I am full and glowing and moving
the sea’s tide, and with the drop of a feather,
I shroud myself in darkness and find a cool
place to hide.

Opulent in charisma, withdrawn from every
civilization, the tireless effort of choosing one
or the other leaves me walking on a tightrope.
Carefully, I listen to the soul’s sound and
its constant silence

Louder than a heartbeat, more fluid than the
flow of blood in my veins, the enclosing clamor
that takes up infinite space is miniscule in
comparison of what’s within.

Half black and half radiate, I rotate in one place.
A smile here, a frown there, this compass never
knows which direction to point. To a Northern
star I wish upon a genuine interaction, but
expect everything less.

Published by

craneknewitt

I have currently been busy with life and I will be re-publishing older poems. New poems will come. I'm always under construction.

2 thoughts on “Consciousness”

Leave a Reply

