Break

Up in the sky, you gave me silly thoughts that
revolved like a mobile of childish stars and
smiling moons. There was even a warmth of
geniality that the other corpses lacked.
For the first time in my life, I never knew a person
who kissed me as if I were an endless supply of honey,
or something more than a magic trick that burned
out passed midnight.
I guess I’d traveled out into an unfamiliar tide that
took me out for Chinese, worshipped my footsteps,
and wanted to know every single detail of every
single reflection inside me.
But for reasons unknown, the continents between
us started to pull apart and created this deep,
dark ocean, and every moment that sailed at full-force
ended up buried in wet sand.
If you think for once that the feeling is less than
mutual, you have no idea how titanic these weights
are. Pulling down every muscle in my face, the
feeling of gravity has never felt so dead.
No, this is not my way of saying I miss you, or that
the vacant atmosphere in my chest has opened a
monsoon of tears — but rather that I hope this
message in a bottle gets to you across a flat sea.

Published by

craneknewitt

I have currently been busy with life and I will be re-publishing older poems. New poems will come. I'm always under construction.

Leave a Reply

