May 29th

Liquid sunlight fills up to the rim,
it glistens an orange eclipse.
My tongue absorbs acidic wonder
and in awe I gaze into the sun.
The pecan leaves whisper,
as chocolate day lilies’ melt sticky
gold. Buzzing around them is black
and yellow blimps that sing May day
tunes. A bicyclist arrives with fruit,
she unpeels it and offers me a slice.
I learn that she shares a cusp and
that we sit between the months.
Blue frogs with dilated eyes hop
through the garden of red blossom
salvia. Meanwhile, a rose opens
like a birthday bow, marking the
grave of a tiger. Azure fades to
dark blue and the night rises like
a tinted window with diamonds
scattered across the glass.
The wind is baby’s breath, a dog
lurks like a silhouette, but he does
not snarl. Behind him droops a
weeping willow that casts dark
shadows across the lawn. I close
my eyes and on this May night,
I realize that everything is opulence.

(Note: this is an older poem. It was written under the influence of THC.)

Published by

craneknewitt

I have currently been busy with life and I will be re-publishing older poems. New poems will come. I'm always under construction.

Leave a Reply

